BRUNSWICK — The Bowdoin College men’s hockey team, the 2014 NESCAC champions, will travel to Oswego State on Wednesday for a first round NCAA Division III tournament game.

The Polar Bears (17-8-2) will take on the Lakers (20-6-2) for the right to advance to play at Babson on Saturday in the tournament quarterfinals. Bowdoin has lost its two previous tournament games at Oswego, in 2010 and 2011.

The NCAA Division III Frozen Four championship will be held March 21-22 at the Androscoggin Bank Colisee in Lewiston.


ST. JOSEPH’S SPLITS: Melissa Mayhew’s single scored Connie Grovo and Carla Tripp as the Monks broke a 1-1 tie with two runs in the top of the eighth on the way to a season-opening 3-2 victory over Ohio Wesleyan (0-1) at Fort Myers, Fla.

Grovo also scored St. Joseph’s first run, singling and scoring on Theresa Hendrix’s fourth-inning triple.


In the second game, St. Joseph’s (1-1) was no-hit in an 8-0 loss.


SOUTHERN MAINE C.C. SWEPT: The Seawolves (8-7) dropped a pair of games in Hampton, Va., losing to Albemarle 9-8, and then 11-4 to Apprentice in the second game.

Alex Brown had four hits and three runs scored over the two games for SMCC, and Andrew Rascoe had three hits, scored twice and had an RBI.

ST. JOSEPH’S 15, NEW JERSEY CITY UNIVERSITY 1: Alex Lorenc tripled home two runs and scored on Nic Lops’ single as the Monks (5-2) scored six runs in the second inning at Winter Haven, Fla. Zach Graham added a two-run single during the rally.

Lorenc finished with three RBI and two runs scored, and Lops had three RBI and Max McComb scored three runs.


Nick Whittaker (2-0) pitched the first seven innings for St. Joseph’s, striking out eight. He allowed four singles and one run.

BOWDOIN SWEEPS ROGER WILLIAMS: The Polar Bears opened their season with a doubleheader sweep of Roger Williams, winning 7-3 and 6-2 at Auburndale, Fla.


Tuesday’s game between eighth-ranked Colby and the University of Southern Maine was changed to Colby’s field in Waterville because of unplayable conditions on USM’s field. The game starts at 7 p.m.


(1) CONNECTICUT 72, (3) LOUISVILLE 52: Breanna Stewart scored 20 points as the top-ranked Huskies beat Louisville at Uncasville, Conn., to win the inaugural American Athletic Conference tournament.

With the victory, UConn (34-0) became the 14th team to enter the NCAA tournament without a loss. It’s the sixth time the Huskies have accomplished that feat, and they have gone on to win the national championship in four of those years.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.