CHUCK COLBY of Wiscasset poses for a photo after winning a 45-lap Late Model Sportsmen feature at Wiscasset Speedway on Saturday.

CHUCK COLBY of Wiscasset poses for a photo after winning a 45-lap Late Model Sportsmen feature at Wiscasset Speedway on Saturday.


Wiscasset Speedway celebrated its second Fan Appreciation Night, this time for the Group Two division of racers.

As the season draws to a close, the Group Two division saw some point champions emerge. Only the Late Model division still has battles for the point champion, and that will be decided on Sept. 26.

The divisions racing on Saturday included Late Model Sportsmen, Outlaw Mini, Modifieds and Strictly Street. Additionally, the Amsoil Nelcar Legends made their ninth and final appearance at the Speedway for this season.

The August Four Season Synthetic Driver of the Month was announced as Mark Lucas, who has participated in three driving classes at Wiscasset Speedway this season.

Up first was as 45-lap Late Model Sportsman feature. Starting on the pole was Tracy Gordon, with TJ Watson and Joey Doyon next in line. Watson was quick to take the lead when green flag began. Gordon and Watson battled it out over 20 laps, trading the lead four times, with Josh St. Clair rapidly working his way up through the pack from his ninth-place starting position.

St. Clair passed Doyon on the eighth lap for third, and waited for his opportunity to challenge the leaders. His chance came on lap 23 when he passed Watson for second. Chris Thorne made a pass on Watson for third, and later Chuck Colby moved up into the top three on lap 26.

A caution on lap 30 tightened the field, and Colby was able to pass St. Clair for second. He later made a move into first when he passed Gordon. St. Clair moved to second, and Dave St. Clair passed Gordon coming out of turn three for third.

Colby held onto the lead throughout the remainder of the race, with Dave St. Clair passing Josh St. Clair for second. As the end of the race neared, Josh St. Clair was driven into the turn two wall by Chris Collins, with Thorne ending up in third.

The Outlaw Minis were next, with a 25-lap race that featured two cautions. Bryan Lancaster led throughout the race, with big battles taking place for second and third. On lap six, Cody Tribbet moved up from seventh and passed Mike Bolduc for third. On a restart, Tribbet claimed second when he passed Brent Roy. Seemingly out of nowhere, Timothy Collins passed Roy on lap 20. Moments later, Justin Trombley slipped past Collins for third.

Lancaster easily claimed the win, with Tribbet in second and Trombley in third. Needing eight points to clinch the division’s points title, Tribbet of Richmond earned 10 to claim the title.

The Amsoil Nelcar Legends were next, with fivetime Speedway winner Kevin Girard on the pole ahead of Matt Chagnot and Ed Getty.

For the second straight race, the pole-sitter never gave up the lead as Girard cruised to the win. Mathew Bourgoine and Austin Teras challenged Girard near the end of the race. Bourgoine, who started way back in 17th place, finished second, using the cautions to his advantage. Teras claimed third in on his 13th birthday.

In a quick, action-packed 30-lap race, the Modified division put on a show. Starting on the pole was Joseph Williams, with Ron Bryant and Richard Jordan behind in second and third, respectively. On the start, Bryant dropped back quickly, allowing Williams to take the lead. Jairet Harrison moved up to second, with Mark Lucas claiming third.

It wasn’t long until Lucas made another move. He passed Harrison and moved to the outside of Williams on lap six. On the 10th lap, Lucas again went for the lead. The pair touched coming out of turn three, with Williams spinning into the infield. Harrison moved to second, with Nick Reno claiming third.

The race leaders remained constant from there, with Lucas taking first, Harrison in second and Reno in third.

There were five cautions in the first eight laps of the Strictly Street 25-lap feature. Bryan Robbins claimed the pole. A caution sent Dan Brown and Skip Trip to the pits with damage.

Robbins claimed the lead, with Kyle Hewins moving up to second and Brian Caswell to third. Kurt Hewins took third on another restart on lap eight.

On the 18th lap, Kurt Hewins moved to the outside and passed Kyle Hewins for second. Kurt Hewins kept coming, passing Robbins on lap 24 for the lead. Kurt Hewins took the win, with Robbins in second and Kyle Hewins in third. But, a postrace failed inspection took Robbins out of the running, giving Kyle Hewins second and Brown third.

Racing action continues with the Group One lineup this upcoming Saturday at 6 p.m. Pit gates open at 2 p.m., with the grandstand opening at 4 p.m. The lineup includes Prostock, Thunder 4’s and New England Four Cylinder Prostock.

Admission is $5 for adults and children ages seven and older. Kids six and under are free. Pit admission is $20.

For more information, head to the Wiscasset Speedway website at

Comments are not available on this story.