A Florida mother who was accidentally shot in the back by her 4-year-old son just hours after she bragged about his shooting prowess may face a criminal charge in connection with the incident.

The Putnam County Sheriff’s Office has asked that Jamie Gilt be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor charge of allowing a minor access to a firearm, according to CNN.

Capt. Gator DeLoach told the network Tuesday that the charge carries a penalty of up to 180 days in jail. It will be up to the state attorney’s office to decide whether to charge Gilt. An office spokesman told The Post that the case is under review but declined further comment on the matter. According to Florida law, it is illegal for minors to possess a firearm unless they are under the supervision of an adult. There are exceptions, the law states – if the minor is at least 16 and engaged in lawful hunting, a recreational shooting activity or marksmanship competition.

Officials told the Florida Times-Union that Gilt was not supervising her son when he fired a .45-caliber handgun, hitting her in the back while she was driving in Putnam County earlier this month.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.