KENNEBUNK — Voters in Kennebunk tackled six ballots during the annual Town Meeting and election on Tuesday.
Two-thirds of Kennebunk voters approved a $50 million state bond passed in the 127th Legislature, $45 million of which would be put toward investments in infrastructure research and development, and to expand employment and preserve Maine jobs.
The remaining $5 million would go toward creating jobs and economic growth through investment in small businesses. The bond passed in Kennebunk 1,181-510.
Voters approved a 12.8 million general government budget 1,396-303. Just under $4.5 million of that budget will come from estimated revenues; $100,000 from the unassigned general fund balance; $4,000 from the restricted trust fund balance; and the remaining through assessment.
Voters, in a 1,444-259 vote approved the transfer of just under $896,000 for repair and replacement of municipal vehicles and facilities. As well, 1,181 voted in favor of approving a $770,000 general obligation bond for public services including public safety. Just 457 voted against the bond.
Three other general obligation bonds were approved: one for $480,000 for financing costs of road paving and drainage repairs on Holland Road, Longview Terrace, Clearbrook Crossing and Perkins lane; another for $2.7 million for financing costs of improvements to the Town Garage and Solid Waste Transfer and Recycling Facility; and another for $1.38 million for road paving and improvements on Summer Street, Dane Street and Portland Road.
Voters also approved the transfer of $150,000 from the unassigned general fund balance to cover overages of Public Services — Highway and parks.
Overwhelmingly, 1,366 voters chose to enact a new parks ordinance. Just 281 opposed that measure. Also favored was the drafting of a new consumer fireworks ordinance, in a 1,198-464 vote.
Christopher Cluff won against opponent William Ward in the race for selectman, in a narrow 1,115-999 vote.
Two candidates emerged victorious in the race for RSU 21 Board of Directors: Rachel Phipps with 1,010 votes, and Tanya Alsberg, with 837. Jeffrey Cole received 625 votes, and Lionel Menard just 569.
Bradley Scott Ducharme narrowly won a slot on the Kennebunk Light and Power District Board of Trustees, with 786 votes — just six votes over opponent Wayne Berry.
Robert Emmons received 1,378 favorable votes in the uncontested race for Kennebunk, Kennebunkport and Wells Water District trustee.
John E. Price received 995 favorable votes for Kennebunk Sewer District trustee in an uncontested race.
— Staff Writer Alan Bennett can be contacted at 282-1535, ext. 329 or [email protected]

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: