BRENDAN TINSMAN, Senior-Baseball

* Maine Gatorade Baseball Player of the Year

* Dr. John Winkin “Mr. Baseball” Award winner

* USA Today Maine Player of the Year

* WMC Player of the Year

* WMC All-Star, first-team

* Senior All-Star

* Maine vs. New Hampshire Senior All-Star

* USA Today Maine team, first-team

* Captain

Tinsman had all eyes on him from start to finish this spring and rose to the occasion time and again as he said goodbye to high school play as the most decorated player in the state and prepares to make an even bigger mark at the next level.

Tinsman grew up in a baseball family and started playing at a young age. It wasn’t long before he stood out thanks to his booming bat and excellence behind the plate as a catcher.

“I fell in love with baseball when I was young,” Tinsman said. “I haven’t gone a day since Little League without playing. I like catching and being the leader on the field.”

Tinsman joined the Cape Elizabeth varsity as a freshman and began launching balls to the deepest part of the field, throwing out baserunners and even providing some key innings on the mound. As a sophomore, Tinsman was a second-team league all-star and a junior, he made the first team, putting up huge numbers: a .500 average with 25 hits, including five doubles and four home runs, to go with 19 runs scored, 11 runs batted in and 20 stolen bases.

After officially committing to Wake Forest University in North Carolina (Tinsman verbally committed his freshman year), he had a terrific senior campaign, hitting .510 with 25 hits, 21 runs, 12 RBI, eight doubles, one triple, three home runs and 13 steals in 13 attempts. He also threw out virtually every base stealer and made only one error.

Tinsman had two hits and three RBI in a season-opening win over Leavitt, crushed a three-run home run in a victory over Lake Region, doubled and homered in a win over Freeport, had three hits, including a long ball, in a victory over Fryeburg Academy, had a pair of hits, scored a run and stole two bases in a win over Yarmouth, had two hits in a victory over St. Dom’s and scored a pair of runs in a loss to Greely. 

In the playoffs, Tinsman tripled, stole two bases and scored three runs, including the winner, in a nine-inning victory over Yarmouth in the quarterfinals, then stole a base as the Capers were eliminated by Greely in the semifinals.

Tinsman would have had even more prolific numbers if he got more pitches to hit. He was frequently walked either intentionally, or unintentionally, meaning he had to help his team win via other means.

“I wanted to be able to swing to help my team out, but them putting me on helped too because I could steal,” Tinsman said. “It got frustrating, but I learned it was respect.”

Tinsman has played with travel teams from out of state since middle school and is ready to play at Wake Forest with an eye on hopefully getting drafted and earning an opportunity to play major league baseball someday.

Don’t bet against him. Brendan Tinsman, Cape Elizabeth’s Spring Male Athlete of the Year, has shown that his talent is well beyond his years and we haven’t heard the last of his dominance.

Coach Andy Wood’s comment: “Brendan has been essential to the growth and success of the Cape Elizabeth program, as well as a model student-athlete throughout his four years. I’m excited to see what his future brings and I strongly believe that his baseball career is just getting started.”

Previous winners:

2017 Connor Thoreck and Owen Thoreck (lacrosse)

2016 R.J. Sarka (lacrosse)

2015 Griffin Thoreck (lacrosse)

2014 Tom Feenstra (lacrosse)

2013 Adam Haversat (lacrosse)

2012 Will LeBlond (baseball)

2011 Cam Brown (baseball)

2010 Ben Brewster (lacrosse)

2009 Andrew Guay (baseball)

2008 Zach Belden (lacrosse)

2007 Pat Murphy (baseball)

2006 Evan Bagley (lacrosse)

2005 Brett Brown (lacrosse)

2004 Garret Currier (tennis)

2003 Alex Weaver (lacrosse)

2002 Mike DiFusco (lacrosse)


DARCY COCHRAN, Sophomore-Track

* Class B state champion, 100 hurdles

* Class B state champion, 300 hurdles

* WMC All-Star, first-team, 100 hurdles

* WMC All-Star, first-team, 300 hurdles

* WMC All-Star, first-team, 200

Cochran had no peer in Class B this year and is far from finished when it comes to dominating on the track.

Cochran started running track in middle school after being encouraged by friends who recognized how fast she was.

“I didn’t have a spring sport, so I got into hurdling,” said Cochran, who stands 5-feet, 11-inches. “Now, I love track because of the team and my success. I enjoy the feeling of cheering everyone on.”

As a freshman, Cochran won the Class B 100 hurdles at the outdoor state meet and placed second in the 300 hurdles and fifth in the 100 meter dash.

After winning the 55 hurdles this winter, Cochran had an outdoor season to remember this spring, excelling throughout and being at her best on the biggest stage.

At the Western Maine Conference championship meet, Cochran won the 100 hurdles in 15.27 seconds, the 300 hurdles in 45.12 seconds and the 200 in 26.64.

At states, Cochran repeated in the 100 hurdles (14.94) and also placed first in the 300 hurdles (45.97) while coming in second in the 200 (26.96) and fifth in the 100 (12.91), accounting for 31 points all by herself.

“I accomplished everything I wanted,” Cochran said. “I was nervous at states, but very happy to win. I’m a very competitive person. I give everything I’ve got.”

Cochran then closed her season by coming in third in both the 100 hurdles and 300 hurdles at the New England championship meet.

Cochran plans to try the triple jump next year when she hopes to add more hardware, break records and qualify for Nationals.

Darcy Cochran, Cape Elizabeth’s Spring Female Athlete of the Year, has been pretty amazing so far in her high school career and it’s fair to suggest that the best is yet to come.

Coach Doug Worthley’s comment: “What makes Darcy such a standout athlete is her natural ability and finding the events that suit her abilities best. Next, is her drive to be better. She’s always willing to go the extra 20 minutes of sprint work, or hurdle drills or block work. She thrives on that. Then, there’s the idea that she’s a fierce competitor. She goes into every race and every heat knowing she’s going to win. She constantly wants to improve and is always asking what to do to get better. Clearly, she is our ace and while there may be a lot of eyes on her, it allows other girls to excel and really focus on their events. She takes pressure off of them and also inspires them to do their best. She brings new light to the program and its future.”

Previous winners:

2017 Jessie Robicheaw (softball)

2016 Liv Clifford (tennis)

2015 Kate Bosworth (lacrosse)

2014 Abby McInerney (lacrosse)

2013 Lauren Steidl (lacrosse)

2012 Lauren Steidl (lacrosse)

2011 Elin Sonesson (lacrosse)

2010 Gabe Donahue (softball)

2009 Colleen Martin (softball)

2008 Trish Thibodeau (softball)

2007 Maureen Kertes (softball)

2006 Clare Egan (track)

2005 Elise Moody-Roberts (track)

2004 Dana Riker (track)

2003 Leslie Harrison (track)

2002 Anna Lombard (lacrosse)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Brendan Tinsman

Darcy Cochran