Cheverus’ Lauren Jordan was named to the SMAA All-Star team and was selected the league’s co-Defensive Player of the Year, while Portland’s Grace Stacey qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Portland’s Ben Levine was named to the Class A North football all-star team.

Deering’s Alec Troxell was one of the state’s elite runners again this past fall and was named an SMAA all-star.

All-stars were plentiful this fall as local standouts made their mark in multiple sports.

Here’s a recap:


In a year where all three city teams made it to the playoffs and one reached the state final, not surprisingly, several players from Cheverus, Deering and Portland were recognized for their play.

The Class A North all-conference offense first-team included Portland running back Zack Elowitch, linemen Koa Farnsworth, Ben Levine and Chris Vincent and utilityman Grant Jacobson.

The first-team defense featured Cheverus end Vic Morrone, linebacker Teigan Lindstedt and back Sean Tompkins and Portland lineman Nate Kaponga, end Jonah Green, linebacker Ben Trefethen and back Ben Stasium.

Portland’s Farnsworth was named the Class A North Lineman of the Year.

The Class A North All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Caleb Carter, Colt Dumond and Cam Harris and Portland’s Tyler Blazejewski, Zack Elowitch, Ben Levine, Cillo Magno and Ben Stasium.

In Class A South, Deering’s Ben Onek made the first-team offense at wide receiver.

Deering place-kicker Max Morrione was named to the second-team offense.

Defensively, Onek (linebacker) and Mike Randall (linebacker) made the second-team.

Boys’ soccer

Waynflete’s boys’ soccer team went undefeated and won the Class C state title and had several players named to the Western Maine Conference Class C/D all-star team. That group included Luca Antolini, Askar Houssein, Miles Lipton and Pat Shaw.

In the Southwestern Maine Activities Association, Cheverus forward Jack Mullen and midfielder Michael Nason and Portland forward Keto Tchiputo were named to the first-team.

Cheverus back Tanner LaFlamme, Deering back Mohamed Abdurhaman and Portland midfielders Alex Millones and Gracien Mukwa and backs Tyler LeMay and Sam Nkurunziza made the second-team.

Cheverus goalkeeper Harrison Bell, Deering midfielder Carlo Demucci and goalkeeper Max Morrione and Portland forwards Pedro Fonseca and Anselmo Tela, back Max Cheever and goalkeeper Henry Flynn were honorable mentions.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Alex Baur, Nolan Doherty, Tommy Gordon, Tanner LaFlamme, Jack Mullen, Michael Nason, Aidan Thomas and Andrew Young, Deering’s Abdirizak Ibrahim, Lucas Jasonides, Chris Kombo, Evan Leonard, Thomas Morrione and Fuad Umer and Portland’s John Moran, Soren Overgaad and Henry Westphal.

The Class A South regional all-star team featured Cheverus’ Mullen and Nason and Portland’s Fonseca and Tchiputo.

Waynflete’s Antolini, Houssein and Shaw were named to the Class C South regional all-star team.

Girls’ soccer

On the girls’ side, in the SMAA, the first-team included Cheverus forward Emma Gallant and back Lauren Jordan.

Cheverus midfielders Mia Kratzer and Zoe Mazur, Deering forward Mia Sargent and Portland midfielder Tori Stevenson were named honorable mentions.

Cheverus’ Lauren Jordan shared SMAA co-Defensive Player of the Year honors with Falmouth’s Jordan Wolf.

Cheverus’ Tholia Hallett and Zoe Mazur, Deering’s Nicole Johnson and Portland’s Delaney Darling, Sydney Girsch, Grace Stacey and Alicia Toohey qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

In the WMC, Waynflete’s Devan Sherry and Kilee Sherry made the Class C/D first-team.

Waynflete’s Clara Sandberg was an honorable mention selection.

The Class A South regional all-star team included Cheverus’ Gallant and Jordan.

Field hockey

Cheverus and Deering’s field hockey teams each made the playoffs this season and, along with Portland, had players named to the SMAA all-star team.

The first-team included Cheverus Bella Booth and Sophia Pompeo, Deering’s Aleah Murph and Portland’s Jaidyn Appel.

Deering’s Molly Dutton was a second-team selection.

Deering’s Maddalena Lapomarda and Portland’s Nettie Walsh were honorable mentions.

Cheverus’ Hannah Woodford, Deering’s Rebekah Dunn and Portland’s Emma Harrigan were Rookies of the Year.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Deering’s Donna Bernard, Margaret Brown, Megan Dunn, Molly Dutton, Neely Hunt, Maddalena Lapomarda, Mackenzie O’Donnell and Donna Thach and Portland’s Jaidyn Appel, Phoebe Howland, Bridget Maloney, Georgia Sommer and Nettie Walsh.

Cheverus’ Sophia Pompeo was named the co-winner of the Faith Littlefield Award, given to the league’s top player. She shared it with Falmouth’s Liberty Ladd.

Cheverus’ Booth and Pompeo were named to the Maine Field Hockey Association All-State team.


Deering’s Maddy Broda was named to the SMAA volleyball first-team.

Deering’s Janella Marie Ridge and Ava Spach made the second-team.

Cheverus’ Maddy Geiger, Deering’s Catherine Balzano and Portland’s Reagan Brown were honorable mentions.

Cross country

The WMC boys’ cross country first-team included repeat Class C individual champion Henry Spritz of Waynflete.

Waynflete’s Hannah Babcock and Tabarak Al Musawi qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

In the SMAA, Deering standout Alec Troxell made the boys’ first-team.

Cheverus’ Ryan Breece and Deering’s Troxell and Hamza Shueib qualified for the All-Academic team.

On the girls’ side, Deering’s Grace Tumavicus made the first-team.

Deering’s Sierra Aponte-Clarke qualified for the second-team.

Cheverus’ Mackenzie Turner was an honorable mention.

Cheverus Annesley Black and Hannah Galeucia and Deering’s Claire Christopher, Olivia Pfaff and Grace Tumavicus qualified for the All-Academic team.


Golfers from Cheverus, Deering and Portland made the SMAA all-star team.

The Northern Division first-team featured Cheverus’ Jeremy Baker and Tom Higgins, Deering’s Bennett Berg and Portland’s Cooper Bay.

Deering’s Nick McGonagle and Portland’s Jacob Loranger made the second-team.

Deering’s Luke Hill and Michael Jones and Portland’s Jacob Loranger and Jackson Villani qualified for the All-Academic team.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.