Will Horton of Class A champion Bonny Eagle, standout two-way lineman Nate Mars of Scarborough and Marshwood quarterback/defensive end Connor Caverly are among the 14 players selected as semifinalists for the Frank J. Gaziano Awards.

Horton, Mars and Caverly are among the seven defensive linemen.

They are joined by Chase Carey of Skowhegan, Camden Jordan of Leavitt, Nate Ellington of South Portland, and Kyle Ouillette of Gorham.

The offensive line nominees are Jack Rogers of Thornton Academy, Jonah Green of Portland, Riley Parmenter of Leavitt, David Gross of Bucksport, Caleb Viola of South Portland, David Dingley of Oxford Hills, and Reese Boucher of Sanford.

The awards, created in 2010, honor Maine’s top high school senior linemen. The six finalists – three on offense, three on defense – are typically announced in mid-January. The two winners will be revealed at an awards dinner Jan. 25 at the Augusta Civic Center.

The two winners receive a $5,000 scholarship and a trophy. The other finalists will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

The award is sponsored by National Distributors of South Portland, the company formed by Gaziano, who died in 2010. Gaziano played at Holy Cross and was a member of the 1943 College All-Star Team that defeated reigning NFL champion Washington in an exhibition game. Gaziano spent a year in the NFL with the Boston Yanks.

Comments are not available on this story.