The Red Sox announced a 47-man roster of players who will be allowed to participate in the 2020 season, scheduled to begin July 23 or 24.

MLB teams had until 4 p.m. Sunday to submit their roster, which can be added to later and adjusted throughout the season, but can’t exceed 60 players.

Since it’s unlikely that there’ll be a minor league season, only players who are on the 60-man roster will be able to participate in workouts.

Red Sox pitchers and catchers are scheduled to report to Fenway Park for the second attempt at spring training on Friday, two days after they report for coronavirus testing.

Teams can begin the regular season with 30 players on the active roster, but that will be trimmed to 28 in two weeks, then 26 two weeks after that for the remainder of the season.

Those on the 60-man roster who are not asked to come to Fenway Park will be sent to an alternative site to continue training. The Red Sox are planning to use McCoy Stadium in Pawtucket, Rhode Island, for the taxi squad and may also use some facilities at Boston College to assist in spring training workouts.


While veteran catcher Jonathan Lucroy was excelling in the original spring training, he was left off the initial roster because of procedural issues. He’s expected to report to Fenway Park with the others in the first round of pitchers and catchers to be tested on Wednesday, according to an industry source.

Here’s initial Red Sox roster, which includes 37 members of the 40-man roster and 10 nonroster players:

PITCHERS (24): Matt Barnes, Ryan Brasier, Colten Brewer, Austin Brice, Nathan Eovaldi, Matt Hall, Kyle Hart, Heath Hembree, Darwinzon Hernandez, Brian Johnson, Robinson Leyer, Chris Mazza, Collin McHugh, Josh Osich, Martín Pérez, Eduardo Rodriguez, Mike Shawaryn, Jeffrey Springs, Domingo Tapia, Josh Taylor, Phillips Valdez, Marcus Walden, Ryan Weber, Brandon Workman

CATCHERS (5): Jett Bandy, Juan Centeno, Kevin Plawecki, Christian Vázquez, Connor Wong

INFIELDERS (11): Jonathan Araúz, Xander Bogaerts, C.J. Chatham, Michael Chavis, Bobby Dalbec, Rafael Devers, Marco Hernández, Tzu-Wei Lin, Mitch Moreland, Yairo Muñoz, José Peraza

OUTFIELDERS (7): John Andreoli, Andrew Benintendi, Jackie Bradley Jr., J.D. Martinez, Kevin Pillar, César Puello, Alex Verdugo

Comments are not available on this story.