Kellen Adickes, Lincoln Academy freshman: Adickes tied for second place in Class B at the state championships, shooting a 5-over 77. Adickes also posted the top score at the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference shootout, a 73, to help Lincoln Academy qualify for the state championships.

Cole Binette, Kennebunk senior: The only Kennebunk player to qualify for the state championships, Binette tied for second place in Class A with a 4-over 76.

Andrew Cheever, Yarmouth sophomore: Cheever led a deep Yarmouth team at the state championships, finishing tied for second in Class B with Kellen Adickes of Lincoln Academy at 5-over 77. Cheever’s effort helped the Clippers take the team title by 16 strokes over Leavitt.

Quinn Dillon, Gorham junior: Dillon overcame a slow start at the state championships to tie for second place in Class A at 4-over 76. His play helped Gorham take third place in the team standings. Dillon shaved seven strokes off his score at the 2020 championships.

George Fahey, Waynflete senior: Fahey shot a 1-over 73 to win the Class C individual title by one shot. It was the second consecutive state championship for Fahey, who won in 2020 with a 2-over 74. With Fahey leading the way, the Flyers placed third in the team standings.

Lucas Flaherty, South Portland junior: Flaherty shot an even-par 72 at the state championships to claim the Class A title. He finished four strokes ahead of his nearest competition. Flaherty improved by 15 strokes on his score at the 2020 championships, where he tied for 26th.


Jade Haylock, Leavitt freshman: Competing in her first state championship match, Haylock won the Class B title by two strokes over her older sister, Ruby, shooting an 83 as Leavitt took the top three spots in the individual standings.

Ruby Haylock, Leavitt senior: The girls’ Varsity Maine Golfer of the Year, Haylock completed her outstanding high school golf career with an 87 at the state championships, finishing tied for second in Class B behind her sister, Jade. Haylock was undefeated in match play in the regular season and shot an even-par 72 to win the KVAC Class B shootout.

Eli Spaulding, Freeport sophomore: The boys’ Varsity Maine Golfer of the Year, Spaulding shot a 4-under 68 at the state championships at Natanis Golf Course’s Tomahawk course to win the Class B title. Spaulding was the only player in any class to shoot under par.

Nico Von Gaudecker, Kents Hill sophomore: Von Gaudecker finished second in Class C, one stroke behind winner Waynflete’s George Fahey. Von Gaudecker’s 74 helped Kents Hill take the team title with a three-shot cushion over St. Dominic.


David Cousins, Yarmouth: Cousins coached the Clippers to the first team title in program history. Four Clippers – Andrew Cheever, Nate Hagedorn, Quinn Federle and Sebastian Martinez – placed among the top 11 in Class B.

Related Headlines

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.