LOS ANGELES — The first Oscar statuettes of the season were presented Saturday night at the film academy’s Governors Awards.

The Hollywood ceremony honors this year’s recipients of honorary Academy Awards: Actress Maureen O’Hara, filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki and screenwriter Jean-Claude Carriere. Actor and activist Harry Belafonte is receiving the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences established the Governors Awards in 2009 as an untelevised gala.