PORTLAND – Portland TV station WMTW (Channel 8) has been awarded the 2010 Edward R. Murrow Award for best newscast. The awards were announced Wednesday in Boston by the Radio and Television News Directors Association.

The station won the award for snow storm coverage, in the small market division, among stations in New England. The station has won a Murrow award four times in the last three years.

The Murrow awards, honoring the legendary radio and TV journalist, have been given out since 1971.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.