SCARBOROUGH — Candidates can now seek the signatures needed to get on Nov. 6 general election ballots in Scarborough, South Portland and Cape Elizabeth.

In Scarborough, where nomination papers became available Wednesday, two Town Council seats, three School Board seats and two seats for Sanitary District trustee will be contested.

The seats are currently held by Councilors Jessica Holbrook and Carol Rancourt, School Board members Robert Mitchell, Jane Wiseman and Jacquelyn Perry, and Sanitary District Trustees Rico Nicola and Violet Benedetto.

Rancourt cannot run again because of town term limits.

Municipal elections are nonpartisan, and each office has a three-year term.

Interested candidates need to gather at least 25 and no more than 100 signatures from resident registered voters. Carrie Noyes, Scarborough deputy town clerk and registrar of voters, recommended gathering at least 35 signatures.

The submission deadline for nomination papers is 6:30 p.m. Sept. 5. For more information about nomination papers, call 730-4020 or visit the town website.

In South Portland, nomination papers for City Council and School Board are available at City Hall. City Clerk Sue Mooney said interested candidates must submit 100 signatures from resident registered voters by 4:30 p.m. Sept. 10.

The ballot features council races in Districts 3 and 4. Councilor Rosemarie DeAngelis now represents District 3 and Councilor Maxine Beecher represents District 4. Beecher is prohibited from running again because of city term limits.

School Board seats now held by Richard Matthews in District 3, James Gilboy in District 4 and School Board Chairman Tappan Fitzgerald in District 5 are on the ballot. The council and School Board seats have three-year terms.

For more information on nominations papers, contact Mooney at 767-7601 or by email at [email protected].

In Cape Elizabeth, nomination papers for three Town Council and three School Board seats became available Monday. Nomination papers require signatures of no fewer than 25 and no more than 100 resident registered voters.

Nomination papers must be submitted by 4 p.m. Sept. 7.

Cape Elizabeth voters will be asked to elect three councilors for three-year terms, seats now held by Council Chairman Sara Lennon and Councilors Jessica Sullivan and James Walsh.

Three School Board seats with three-year terms are on the ballot, seats now held by board members David Hillman, John Christie and Mary Williams-Hewitt.

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

filed under: