PORTLAND — State Reps. Heather Sanborn and Rachel Talbot Ross were big winners in Tuesday’s Democratic primaries, where the unofficial voter turnout exceeded 30 percent.

Sanborn, who represents House District 43, is now the Democratic nominee to replace Sen. Mark Dion in Senate District 28. She defeated City Councilor Jill Duson, 3,078 to 2,181.

The results included the total from a portion of Westbrook, where Sanborn defeated Duson 666-495.

Westbrook resident Patrick Martin was unopposed in the GOP primary for the seat. The general election is Nov. 6.

Sanborn, who won Dion’s former House seat in 2016 when he was elected to the Senate, said she won on the basics.

“I knocked on a lot of doors, talked to a lot of voters, and listened to a lot of voters,” she said. “We talked about the big issues – clean energy, affordable health care and school funding.”

Talbot Ross easily defeated former Rep. Herb Adams in the Democratic primary race for her House District 40 seat, 810-260.

Her victory all but assures her of a second term in Augusta, since there were no candidates in the Republican primary and no independent candidates filed nomination papers with the secretary of state by the June 1 deadline.

Talbot Ross was unavailable to comment on her victory Tuesday night, but Adams said she has his support moving forward.

“It was a fascinating campaign fought by land mail, email, handshakes, and shoe leather,” Adams said. “Post (Gov. Paul) LePage, we have lots of glass to sweep up and miles of fence to repair.”

Tuesday’s primary elections also shaped the ballots for eight other city seats in the Legislature on Nov. 6, although no candidates faced opposition from within their own parties.

In Senate District 27, incumbent Sen. Ben Chipman was nominated to serve a second term by the Democrats. Republican Joshua Kelton won his party’s nomination. Independent Crystal Canney will also be on the Nov. 6 ballot.

In House District 36, former legislator and former Mayor Michael Brennan won the Democratic nomination, while Republican voters selected Samuel P. Ledue. Incumbent independent Rep. Denise Harlow cannot run again because of term limits.

In House District 37, incumbent Democratic Rep. Richard Farnsworth and Republican Jane P. Frey won their party bids. Independent Justin Pollard will also be on the general election ballot.

Incumbent Rep. Matthew Moonen won the Democratic nomination to continue serving in House District 38. There were no Republican candidates in the primary and no unenrolled candidate filed to run by the June 1 deadline.

In House District 39, incumbent Democratic Rep. Michael Sylvester and Republican Peter Doyle won their primaries, setting up a rematch of the 2016 general election.

In House District 41, Rep. Erik Jorgensen and James Azzola won the Democratic and GOP primaries, setting up the third general election contest between them as Jorgensen seeks his fourth term.

The House District 42 general election also will be a rematch, between incumbent Democratic Rep. Benjamin Collings and Republican Susan Abercrombie. April Fournier withdrew as a Democratic candidate, but not in time to have her name removed from the ballot.

The House District 43 race will feature two newcomers seeking the seat vacated by Sanborn. Republican Cathleen Nichols of Falmouth will face city resident and Democrat W. Edward Crockett.

In the only city election aside from the school budget referendum, Kim Rich defeated  Steven Chabot in the race to complete the final five months of a vacated seat on the Portland Water District Board of Trustees. Rich won, 7,499 to 3,695.

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

State Rep. Heather Sanborn, right, greets a voter at the Italian Heritage Center in Portland on June 12. Sanborn won the Democratic nomination in Senate District 28.

State Rep. Rachel Talbot Ross, left, and former Rep. Herb Adams greet voters June 12 outside the Portland Expo. Talbot Ross defeated Adams in the Democratic primary in House District 40.