Chelsea Moeller

Chelsea Moeller has joined Thomas College as vice president for advancement. Moeller most recently served as the director of donor engagement and capital projects for the Children’s Center in Augusta, where she completed a $5.3 million capital campaign. Moeller also served as director of donor engagement at Kennebec Valley Humane Society. She also held many positions at MaineGeneral Health, where she helped raise $12 million for MaineGeneral’s new regional hospital.

Tracy Roy was hired as finance director for the city of Lewiston. Roy previously worked as finance director and treasurer for the City of Augusta.

The First Amendment Museum has hired Meghan Sylvester as manager of communications and engagement. Sylvester is a public historian from south Louisiana. She joins the museum following five years of experience as the director and curator of a local history museum in Louisiana, where she worked to create new exhibits, educational programming and digital content that increased the overall engagement with the museum.


Monica O’Hara

Northeast Credit Union has promoted Monica O’Hara to assistant vice president support operations. O’Hara previously oversaw the records processing department.


Carter Friend

Carter Friend was named executive director of York County Community Action Corporation. Friend has served as deputy director at YCCAC since 2017. As deputy director, Friend led the development of a five-year strategic plan that focused on implementing a client/patient-centered approach to delivering services, and expanding the group’s work to promote community and economic development. He also helped lead programs, including WIC Nutrition Services, Children’s Services, Energy Services, Transportation, the Economic Opportunity Department, and Nasson Health Care, the agency’s federally-qualified community health center.




Aaron MacArthur

Aaron MacArthur was recognized as Chiropractor of the Year by the Maine Chiropractic Association. MacArthur practices at Portland Chiropractic Neurology, where he treats patients for many types of conditions including spine issues, migraines, concussions and vestibular rehabilitation.

Lewiston-based law firm Brann & Isaacson announced that eight of its lawyers were named to the 2022 New England Super Lawyers list. The lawyers include: George Isaacson and Martin Eisenstein, tax attorneys; Martha E. Greene, estate and probate attorney; Benjamin Lund, a real estate attorney; Peter Brann and Stacy Stitham, intellectual property litigation attorneys; Kevin Haley, intellectual property attorney; and David Bertoni, class action attorney. Attorneys Michael Carey, Eamonn Hart, Hannah Wurgaft and William Townshend were named Rising Stars


Denis Bergeron, utility analyst and coordinator of regional market programs at the Maine Public Utilities Commission, was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award at the New England Conference of Public Utilities Commissioners. Bergeron has worked in state government in leadership positions for 35 years.

The Maine Small Business Development Centers recognized eight business advisers who received their Core Competencies Certification from the New England Professional Development group. Newly certified advisers include Christine Cole of Portland, Tina Oddleifson of Portland, Anne Lancaster of Biddeford, Lori Allen of Auburn, Christina Ramsdell of Auburn, Brandon McDonald of Caribou, Alison Lane of Bangor, and Peter Piconi of Waterville.

The University of New England recognized the achievements of three Maine women with 2022 Deborah Morton Awards:

Lise Pelletier

Lise Pelletier is the director of the Acadian Archives at the University of Maine at Fort Kent. Her mission is to bring the history and culture of the Acadians of the St. John Valley back and share it with the world. She is now the president of the Maine Acadian Heritage Council.

Hannah Pingree

Hannah Pingree was appointed to lead Gov. Mills’ Office of Policy Innovation and the Future in 2019. Pingree previously served as speaker of the Maine House of Representatives from 2008 to 2010. She was also the Maine House majority leader, chair of the Committee on Health and Human Services, and a member of the Committee on Appropriations and Financial Affairs during her terms in the Maine Legislature from 2002 to 2010.

Julia Sleeper Whiting

Julia Sleeper-Whiting is the co-founder and executive director of Tree Street Youth Center. Sleeper-Whiting seeks to provide valuable programming to at-risk youth in Lewiston and Auburn.



The First Amendment Museum appointed two board members:

Janet Marstine is an independent scholar and consultant based in Yarmouth. Marstine is the author of six books and writes on diverse aspects of museum ethics, from curatorial ethics to negotiating the pressures of self-censorship, to artists’ interventions as drivers for ethical change.

Patricia Richardson is a digital transformation coach for the American Press Institute, treasurer and board member for The Maine Monitor, and a volunteer for the nonprofit newspaper The Anchor in Harpswell.

Please send submissions to [email protected]


Comments are not available on this story.