Residents of the Bonny Eagle school district chose three school board members Tuesday.

Voting results provided by the three largest communities – Standish, Hollis and Buxton – account for the majority of ballots cast. The two smaller communities – Limington and Frye Island – did not provide vote counts Tuesday or Wednesday. Bonny Eagle board members are elected at-large by voters in all member towns.

Based on the partial results, Cynthia Meserve, a former member of the school board and chairperson of its negotiations committee, defeated Paul Leach II, whose child attends school in the district, for a Buxton seat on the board of School Administrative District 6. Meserve collected 1,761 votes from the three towns, compared to 919 for Leach.

John Sargent defeated Charity Boedeker for a Standish seat on the board. Sargent collected 1,656 votes from the three largest towns, compared to 1,117 for Boedeker.

Debra Black held a solid lead over Denise Turner for the Limington seat, with 1,453 votes for Black and 1,272 for Turner. Limington voters could still alter the outcome of that race.

District voters decisively approved the school budget based on the partial returns.

Related Headlines

Comments are no longer available on this story

filed under: